Changing the world with Jesus

Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

Stained glass at St John the Baptist’s Anglican Church http://www.stjohnsashfield.org.au, Ashfield, New South Wales. Illustrates Jesus’ description of himself “I am the Good Shepherd” (from the Gospel of John, chapter 10, verse 11). This version of the image shows the detail of his face. The memorial window is also captioned: “To the Glory of God and in Loving Memory of William Wright. Died 6th November, 1932. Aged 70 Yrs.” (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In the recent mini-series The Bible that was broadcast on the History Channel, Jesus spoke with Peter. Peter asked him what they were going to do. Jesus replied that they would change the world. One may ask if Christ did change the world and if He is still changing the world today through His disciples.

As a disciple of Christ I sometimes wonder if I have changed the world with my witness of Jesus Christ in my life. I wonder, sometimes, if I am really experiencing God when I worship on Sunday. I wonder what God expects from me as His follower. I wonder if I am really close to God or am I going through the motions of what I think a Christian should be.

The world and society today is trying to eliminate God (the God worshiped by Christians and Jews) while atheism and Islam are becoming accepted modes of belief. It is a great temptation for Christians to compromise what they have been taught about God in the scriptures to be tolerant of the new morality. A new philosophy that is being touted is moral relativism which teaches that there is no absolute Truth and each individual’s truth is just as valid as anyone else’s.

People have forgotten that we are created in God’s image. We were created on purpose. Humanity is not an accident that “evolved” out of a pool of goo. We are transformed to be more like God as we mature in our faith. The more we know God, the more we know His grace and forgiveness, and the more we become like Him.
There is no way that we can see the world the way God sees it. Since He is God and the ruler of the universe, there is no way we can comprehend our world in the context in which He sees it. However, as we grow in His grace, we can change our perspective and see the world more in the context of God.

So, how do I fit into this picture? When I was a student in high school, I often walked to school through an empty lot full of trees. One morning was looking down at the ground and thought of the worms and insects that were scurrying busily under the dead leaves at my feet. I thought how large I must seem to those animals as they toiled on the earth. Then I looked up at the trees. They were very tall. I seemed insignificant next to them. Then I looked at the sky and saw how truly small I was in relation to the entire world and the universe.

This experience could have been very discouraging. I was beginning a long journey in my walk with Christ. My life has not been easy; but even though I may be insignificant and small in the eyes of the world, God loves me. I know this for a fact because I know that I would be dead today if it was not for the grace and forgiveness of God.

So, how have I changed the world? I do not know. I do know that I have a wonderful husband who I share in my walk with Jesus. We make each other stronger in our relationship with Him. I have two children who know Jesus and set an example of how respectful children should behave in society. Maybe I have changed the world in this small way.

Do I experience Christ in worship? Yes. When I go into worship with the right mindset looking for Christ, He meets me there through the Holy Spirit. What is expected of me? I believe Christ expects me to be as much like Him as I can possibly be. He doesn’t expect me to be perfect. He expects me to strive for perfection. Am I close to God? I believe that I am. I try to read my scriptures every day. I look at the world and can see where God is working. I can see where He is being ignored and attacked. One thing that God taught us in the scriptures is that we as Christians are now the physical body of Christ. It is up to me to show the world who Christ is. We must not be discouraged by the world. We are here to change it along side Jesus Christ.

Tags: , , , , ,

About catherinebrigden

I am a former English teacher and co-owner of a small business. I used to be extremely liberal, but my eyes have been opened. I believe our freedoms are being taken away by our government, and I am going to fight to get them back.

Leave a Reply

